Academic Appeals

The faculty of each of the schools or Division defines the degree requirements, academic standards, and rules for students enrolled in the school and has jurisdiction over the courses offered by the school. Each of the schools and Divisions has a Committee on Course and Standing charged with overseeing special cases and appeals from graduate students. Students have the right to appeal any decision to the appropriate Committee on Course and Standing, which is the final authority on enforcement of curriculum, degree requirements, academic standards, grades and academic rules. For more information, students should see their divisional Dean’s office. Students may also contact the appropriate contact person(s) on list below for further guidance on the academic appeal process.

It should be noted that most academic rules are enforced without exception. Generally, the committee will consider requests for deviations from the rules only when the deviation is within the spirit, if not the letter, of the rule.

 

CCNY Contacts for Graduate Academic Standards Information by School/Division/Program

ARCHITECTURE
Hannah Borgeson
Director of Graduate Affairs
Spitzer School of Architecture Room 120
(212) 650-5663
hborgeson@ccny.cuny.edu

DIVISION OF INTERDISCIPLINARY STUDIES/
CENTER FOR WORKER EDUCATION

Dr. Susanna Rosenbaum
Associate Professor
Phone - 2129256625 / Ext. 208
Location - 25 Broadway
srosenbaum@ccny.cuny.edu

COLIN POWELL SCHOOL
Dr. Kevin Foster
Interim Associate Dean
NAC Room 6/141
(212) 650-6201
kfoster@ccny.cuny.edu

CUNY SCHOOL OF MEDICINE / PA PROGRAM
Dr. Dani McBeth
Associate Medical Professor and
Associate Dean for Student Affairs
Harris Hall Room 113
(212) 650-7727 / 8485
dmcbeth@med.cuny.edu

SCHOOL OF EDUCATION
Ms. Stacia Pusey
Assistant Dean SOE Enrollment & Student Services
NAC Room223A
(212) 650-5345
spusey@ccny.cuny.edu

Dr. Nadjwa Norton
Associate Professor of Leadership and
Human Development
(212) 650-6330
NAC 6/204F
nnorton@ccny.cuny.edu

ENGINEERING
Ms. Belkys Bodre
Director of Graduate Affairs
(212) 650-8030
Steinman Hall, Rm. 209
bbodre@ccny.cuny.edu


HUMANITIES AND THE ARTS
Mrs. Migen Prifti
Director of Graduate Student Advising
(212) 650-7383
NAC Room 5/225
mprifti@ccny.cuny.edu

SCIENCE
Dr. Elizabeth Rudolph
Assistant Dean
Marshak Room 1320
(212) 650-6474
erudolph@ccny.cuny.edu

SUSTAINABILITY IN THE URBAN ENVIRONMENT PROGRAM
Mr. George Smith
Program Manager
(212) 650-6974
Shepard Hall Room 301B
Gsmith2@ccny.cuny.edu

MASTER’S IN TRANSLATIONAL MEDICINE PROGRAM
Dr. Jeffrey Garanich
Director
(212) 650-5330
Steinman Hall Room 503
jgaranich@ccny.cuny.edu