About The City College

The City College of New York is a small university within The City University of New York, offering a rich program of undergraduate and graduate study through its College of Liberal Arts and Science and the Professional Schools. The College of Liberal Arts and Science consists of the following:

Division of Humanities and the Arts

Division of Science

Division of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences

The Professional Schools are the:

Spitzer School of Architecture

Colin Powell School for Civic and Global Leadership (formerly the Division of Social Science)

School of Education

Grove School of Engineering

CUNY School of Medicine 

Founded in 1847 by a referendum of the people of New York City, City College’s mandate was to offer the best education possible to the children of the poor and working class, and to open to new immigrants the opportunities of America. The City College (CCNY) is the oldest college among the twenty-four public institutions that make up The City University of New York (CUNY), which was established in 1961.

The City College campus occupies thirty-five acres along tree-lined Convent Avenue from 131st Street to 141st Street in Manhattan. The College can be reached easily by several subway and bus lines. Many buildings in the area are landmarks, including the six historic Neo-Gothic structures and three archways on CCNY’s North Campus.

The College’s resources include the Morris Raphael Cohen Library, the largest library in the University system, with holdings of over one and a half million volumes; more than two hundred teaching and research laboratories; the Towers, a 600-bed residence hall; and an Information Technology Center that provides instructional and research-oriented services and student access through numerous student computer labs. The Aaron Davis Hall is the site of rehearsals, performances, exhibits and technical training for students in the arts, as well as presentations by professional artists. It is a major cultural asset for CCNY as well as the New York City community. We are also home to two recent science research additions: The Center for Discovery and the Advanced Science Research Center, both located on our South Campus.